Session 113 - HLW Immobilization Processes and Facilities

Session Co-Chairs:  
Sharon Marra (USA)
Sharon Robinson (USA)
Lead Organizer:  
Sharon Marra (USA)
Add'l Organizer(s):  
Christian Ladirat (France)
Mark Shepard (USA)
Paper Reviewer:  
Sharon Marra (USA)




Paper Title


SRS’s Defense Waste Processing Facility – the Nation’s Only Operating Facility – Completes 20 Years of Radioactive Operations - 17407
Kent Fortenberry, Savannah River Remediation (USA); Vijay Jain, Savannah River Remediation (USA); Mark Schmitz, Savannah River Remediation (USA); Thomas Foster, Savannah River Remediation (USA)


Implementation of Glycolic Acid Flowsheet in the Defense Waste Processing Facility (DWPF) - 17348
Aaron Staub, Savannah River Remediation (USA); Spencer Isom, Savannah River Remediation (USA)


Progress Updates for the Hanford Waste Treatment and Immobilization Plant Project - 17275
Joanne Grindstaff, US DOE (USA); William Hamel, US DOE (USA)


Direct Feed Options for Hanford High Level Waste Vitrification - 17318
Ian Pegg, Catholic University of America (USA); Keith Matlack, The Catholic University of America (USA); Wing Kot, The Catholic University of America (USA); Innocent Joseph, Atkins (USA)


Nuclear Liquid Wastes Calcination: The High-Level French Experience - 17184
Régis Didierlaurent, AREVA (France); Alain Ledoux, CEA Marcoule (France); Catherine Veyer, AREVA (France); Sophie Schuller, CEA (France); Anabela Rodrigues, AREVA (France)


Mixed Metallic and Organic Transuranic Waste Incineration / Vitrification - 17539
Christophe Girold, CEA (France); Patrice Charvin, CEA Marcoule (France); Isabelle Hugon, CEA Marcoule (France); Sabah Ben Lagha , (France); Stephane Catherin , (France)


De-nitration Process in Glass Melter Off Gas Treatment System - 17092
Tomoe Takahashi, IHI Corporation (Japan); Akira Maeda, IHI Corporation (Japan); Kiyoshi Yamashita, IHI Corporation (Japan)


Vitrification of Sellafield Wastes with High Metallic Magnesium Alloy Content - 17495
Bradley Bowan, Atkins (USA); Keith Matlack, The Catholic University of America (USA); Wing Kot, The Catholic University of America (USA); Hao Gan, Catholic University of America (USA); Ian Pegg, Catholic University of America (USA); Eric Smith, Atkins (USA); Innocent Joseph, Atkins (USA); Sean Morgan, Sellafield Ltd (United Kingdom); Robert Nichol, Sellafield Ltd (United Kingdom)