

## Panel: Blue Ribbon Commission on America's Nuclear Future Session # 105

**Co-Chairs:** 

Larry W. Camper, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission John Longenecker, Longenecker & Associates, Inc.

March 1, 2012



## **BRC Report Preamble**

 "The BRC was formed by the Secretary of Energy at the request of the President to conduct a comprehensive review of the policies for managing the back end of the nuclear fuel cycle and recommend a new strategy."

 "This report highlights the Commission's findings and conclusions and presents recommendations for consideration by the Administration and Congress, as well as interested state, tribal and local governments, other stakeholders, and the public."



## **BRC Members**

 Co-Chairs: Rep. Lee H. Hamilton and Gen. Brent Scowcroft

 Other Commissioners were: Mr. Mark H. Ayers, The Hon. Vicky A. Bailey, Dr. Albert Carnesale, Sen. Pete Domenici, Ms. Susan Eisenhower, Sen. Chuck Hagel, Mr. Jonathan Lash, Dr. Allison Macfarlane, Dr. Richard A. Meserve, Dr. Ernest J. Moniz, Dr. Per Peterson, Mr. John Rowe, and Rep. Phil Sharp

## **Panelists**



- Albert Carnesale, BRC Commissioner and Chancellor Emeritus/Professor at UCLA
- Bob Forrest, Former Mayor of Carlsbad, NM
- John Parkyn, CEO, Private Fuel Storage, LLC
- Everett Redmond, Sr. Director, Non-Proliferation and Fuel Cycle Policy, Nuclear Energy Institute
- William C. Ostendorff, U.S. NRC Commissioner
- Dave Martin, Cabinet Secretary, New Mexico Environmental Department
- Peter B. Lyons, Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy, U.S. DOE