# Overview of the Blue Ribbon Commission on America's Nuclear Future

Dr. Richard A. Meserve
President, Carnegie Institution for Science
February 2011

## Origins and Charter

- The Commission was established in accordance with the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act and as directed by the President's Memorandum to the Secretary of Energy dated January 29, 2010.
- This Commission is chartered under the authority of the U.S. Department of Energy and will deliver its recommendations to the Secretary of Energy
- The purpose of the Commission is to conduct a comprehensive review of policies for managing the back end of the nuclear fuel cycle and to recommend a plan for the future.

#### Members

- Lee Hamilton, Co-Chair Director of The Center on Congress at Indiana University, and President of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, former Member of Congress (D-IN)
- *Brent Scowcroft*, Co-Chair President, The Scowcroft Group, and former National Security Advisor to Presidents Gerald Ford and George H.W. Bush
- Mark Ayers, President, Building and Construction Trades Department, AFL-CIO
- *Vicky Bailey,* Former Commissioner, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission; Former Indiana PUC Commissioner; Former DOE Assistant Secretary for Policy and International Affairs
- Albert Carnesale, Chancellor Emeritus and Professor, UCLA
- Pete V. Domenici, Senior Fellow, Bipartisan Policy Center; former U.S. Senator (R-NM)
- Susan Eisenhower, President, Eisenhower Group, Inc.
- *Chuck Hagel*, Distinguished Professor at Georgetown University, Former U.S. Senator (R-NE)
- *Jonathan Lash*, President, World Resources Institute
- *Allison Macfarlane,* Assoc. Professor of Environmental Science and Policy, George Mason Univ.
- Richard A. Meserve, President, Carnegie Institution for Science, and former Chairman, U.S. NRC
- Ernie Moniz, Professor of Physics and Cecil & Ida Green Distinguished Professor, MIT
- Per Peterson, Professor and Chair, Dept. of Nuclear Engineering, Univ. of California Berkeley
- John Rowe, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Exelon Corporation
- *Phil Sharp*, President, Resources for the Future; former Member of Congress (D-IN)

## Full Commission Activities to Date

- Full Commission meetings:
  - March—Where are we and how did we get here?
  - May Getting the issues on the table
    - Three subcommittees formed Reactor & Fuel Cycle Technology;
       Transportation & Storage; Disposal
  - July Hanford visit: a community's perspective
  - September Crosscutting issues
    - Governance, siting, international implications, ethical & societal foundations
  - November International perspectives, working with the states, expert advice
  - January Visits to SC/GA (Savannah River) and NM (WIPP)
  - February Visits to Japan, Russia and France; meeting on crosscutting issues
    - Organizational form and scope, siting, financial considerations

### R&FCT Subcommittee

- Formed to answer the question: "Do technical alternatives to today's oncethrough fuel cycle offer sufficient promise to warrant serious consideration and R&D investment, and do any of these alternative technologies hold significant potential to influence the way in which irradiated nuclear fuel is stored and disposed?"
- Subcommittee Membership:
  - Pete Domenici Co-Chairman
  - Per Peterson Co-Chairman
  - Al Carnesale
  - Susan Eisenhower
  - Allison Macfarlane
  - Richard Meserve
  - Ernie Moniz
  - Phil Sharp
  - Lee Hamilton Ex Officio
  - Brent Scowcroft Ex Officio

## T&S Subcommittee

- Formed to answer the question: "Should the US change the way in which it is storing used/spent nuclear fuel and high level waste while one or more geologic repositories are established?"
- Subcommittee Membership:
  - Richard Meserve Co-Chairman
  - Phil Sharp Co-Chairman
  - Mark Ayers
  - Vicky Bailey
  - Al Carnesale
  - Pete Domenici
  - Ernie Moniz
  - John Rowe
  - Lee Hamilton Ex Officio
  - Brent Scowcroft Ex Officio

## Disposal Subcommittee

- Formed to address the question "How can the U.S. go about establishing one or more disposal sites for high-level nuclear wastes in a manner that is technically, politically and socially acceptable?"
- Subcommittee Membership:
  - Chuck Hagel, Subcommittee Co-Chair
  - Jonathan Lash, Subcommittee Co-Chair
  - Mark Ayers
  - Vicky Bailey
  - Susan Eisenhower
  - Allison Macfarlane
  - Per Peterson
  - John Rowe
  - Lee Hamilton, Ex-Officio
  - Brent Scowcroft, Ex-Officio

# Schedule and Next Steps

- Charter requires draft report by July29, 2011 and a final report by January 29, 2012
- Papers have been commissioned to explore various areas of relevance to the charge.
- Other visits and meetings as necessary
- Next meeting of full Commission May 13, 2011 (tentative)

# Subcommittee Operations

- Numerous subcommittee meetings to pursue specific charges.
- Meetings typically have had an open session to hear witnesses.
- All input to the Commission has been made public, other than classified information.

#### Contact Us

- Written input can be submitted to <a href="mailto:brc@nuclear.energy.gov">brc@nuclear.energy.gov</a>
- The work of the Commission can be followed at www.brc.gov
  - Meeting information
  - Webcasts/video archives
  - Comments
  - Commissioned papers